The decision between late for class and missing it

Standard

I have a pet peeve about being late. I hate being late to anything, whether its an event, a movie, a church service, and yes, even class, to the point that I would rather miss it than walk in and be embarrassed for being late. There has only been a few classes where I would proudly walk in late and the few that I do. Is because I love them with all my heart to accept the penalty of being late and/or I do not care for the class to even think about being on time. But most times I am simply fearful of coming to class late because of my teacher.

I don’t know if its subconsciously I am afraid of being pointed out or I had a teacher that mocked me about being late. But there is something about the idea of being late that I simply just despise. And I know teachers will say that being late is better than being absent. But I would rather take my chances not showing up than being late and having people or worse my teacher think that I am stupid, lacking in will or simply that I have a lack of respect for her. Instead of my real reasons for being late which is either, typing up homework for class, sleeping in late due to homework I have to do for class or family affairs (Which is more often than most would think).

So sometimes I don’t show up if I’m extremely late and sometimes I do. It all depends on how late I am. And right now I believe there is nothing in my power that can redeem the precious time I have missed. I’m sorry but I am too afraid to walk in late now. Which means I have only one more excused absence and after that my grade starts to drop….. Man I hate being late.

2 thoughts on “The decision between late for class and missing it

Leave a Reply

